Today

Today in human history,
You may see significant happenings,
Today in news media, on radio, or TV,
You may see beauty, glorious things,
But nothing can compare to this, to me:

On April Tenth, some years ago,
Although eclipsed, the sun still shined,
The records would not show
Any meteorological record to find,
And few fortunate souls now know,

The sun hasn’t shone as bright from then ’til now,
Fine art has lost its’ glossed allure somehow,
No epic poems were written about
What the fairy tale mirror would have spoken out loud,
And nobody knows but you and me,
Though I alone know what I can see-
It’s you.

Your eyes, your hair, let me gaze a while,
Your laugh that makes me feel happy,
The mystery and beauty that is your style,
Things everyone who has met you can see,
And secrets I’ll keep that make me smile,

Those eyes, deep pools of perfect green,
Don’t rescue me, though I’ve fallen in,
This is my story and my favorite daydream,
For a lifetime, please, just let me swim,
Or drown remembering how good life has been,

So blessed am I, even you don’t fully grasp
That delight I feel when our hands clasp,
The joy of spending the time of day,
Even when we argue or have nothing to say,
The reason I’m happily spending my happily-ever-after
With you, through all life’s tears and laughter,
Is you.

Proverbs 18: 22 The man who finds a wife finds a good thing, and obtains favor from the Lord.

Leave a Reply

