Forbidden Fruit

Oh, I can see it! The fruit of the tree,
I know it’s death, but it looks good to me-
Just once, to taste it! To savor a bite!
I know the consequence, it isn’t right,
Why is it beautiful, and forbidden?
Why is it on display, and not hidden?

Oh, I can smell it, the fruit of the tree,
I know it’s wrong, but its perfume smells sweet.
Everyone else says the fruit tastes divine.
They seem all right. Why should I not have mine?
Do I hear whispering? “Come and take me!
What’s the harm in giving yourself a treat?”

Oh, now I touched it. That soft, tender peel,
No one would judge me but God. Is He real?
And if He is, He should forgive me, right?
Why is it called darkness? It looks like light.
Where is the point when it’s actually sin?
How close can I get without falling in?

Leave a Reply

