Drip

My soul is ripped, broken, torn, shattered.
No rhyme or reason, as if it mattered.

The fear of failure overwhelms the fear to never try,
I sit alone now, watching life so slowly passing by,
I pray, but answers do not come with angels on the wing,
If hope and energy renewed, I could keep on trying.

But there’s no love to cast out fear or give hope back to me
The seconds tick as drips of blood, time killing me slowly

I touch and my touch damages, or speak, words take their toll
The youthful hope I knew has passed, and sadness fills the hole
As on the beach, the sand and water, tides, crushing the soul
Some have a purpose, seek, and find, press on to win their goal

Some ride waves, easy, find life’s treasures, like shells on the sand
I’ve never had a treasure not slip from my clutching hand
I find treasures that others hold, knowing joy just denied
If it weren’t a waste of tears, I might have grieved and cried.

The fear of failure overwhelms the fear to never try,
I sit alone now, watching life so slowly passing by,
I’d try again, if I knew I could win, find wings, and fly,
I’ve failed so much, I’m tired of that, so why bother to try?

My soul is ripped, broken, torn, shattered
No rhyme or reason, as if it mattered.

Love isn’t real, only the fear.  No dreams.  I am lonely.
The seconds tick as drips of blood, time killing me slowly.

Leave a Reply

